Witness States

Most states do not require a notary witness for deeds and mortgages. However, a few states do, which often trips people up. The below states require at least one witness for notary signings.

There are only five states that have witness requirements for the recording of the deeds and mortgages. Click on the attached links to see the specific laws about these issues.

The following states are notary witness states:
Connecticut – 2 witnesses and one can be the Notary
Florida – 2 witnesses, one CAN be the notary – Quit Claim Deeds Only, not the mortgage unless it is the Lender requirement.
Georgia – 2 witnesses, and one MUST be the notary
Louisiana  – 2 witnesses, and CANNOT be the notary
South Carolina – 2 witnesses, one CAN be the notary
FL Notaries: Although it is not a State requirement, Lenders may request witnesses on their mortgages. Please read our closing instructions for more information or contact our office with any questions on this matter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.